Call for Candidates

Key parts of organizational growth and development are electing new leaders. With fresh minds come new ideas. This year, the Craft Maltsters Guild has three open positions for the Board of Directors. Two board member positions are Member Malthouse seats and one is an International or Developing Malthouse seat. Learn more about the current board of directors here.

Any member can nominate a candidate, including themselves. Individuals with great ideas who can commit to the time dedicated to leading our guild are encouraged to apply. ​Applications are due by Wednesday, December 8th. 

Are you, or do you know a fellow Guild member, ready to take on the challenge of becoming a Board Member? Submit a nomination!

Nomination Process & Timeline 

All nominations will be reviewed by the 2022 Elections Committee which this year consists of Board Vice President, Hillary Barile (Rabbit Hill Farm & Malthouse), and Guild members, Austin Schumacher (TexMalt) and Jeff Bloem (Murphy & Rude Malting Co.). There shall be no more than one individual representative nominated per Member Malthouse. Once nominations are closed, each nominee will be contacted for an interview. Voting will take place via SurveyMonkey with Member Malthouses submitting their ballots electronically between December 12th and January 9th. The new board of directors will be announced at the annual meeting on Tuesday, January 11th, 2022. Election results will also be emailed to Guild members and posted on the Guild website. 

2022 Election Timeline 

  • Nominations Close – December 8th, 2021
  • Voting Begins – December 12th, 2021 
  • Voting Ends – January 9th, 2022 
  • Election Results Announced at Annual Meeting – January 11th, 2022
  • New Board Members 1st Board Meeting – March 17, 2022

Frequently Asked Questions 

Who is eligible to vote? 

Only Member Malthouse members hold voting authority. This membership category includes owners and employees of malthouses that produce Craft Malt in North America. 

Are any current board members running for re-election? 

Yes, they include two incumbent Member Malthouse board members, Daniel Galvagni (Root Shoot Malting) and Phil Neumann (Mainstem Malt), who ​will run for re-election in 2022. 

What are the time commitments? 

A Guild board member’s role and responsibilities include, but are not limited to the following: 

  • Participate in orientation training and complete the following onboarding tasks (2-3 hours):
    • Read and review the Guild Board of Directors’ Manual 
    • Read and sign the Board of Directors Code of Ethical Conduct Agreement 
    • Complete and sign a Conflict of Interest Statement
    • Read and review Robert’s Rules of Order
    • Participate in organizational DEI training
  • Participate in monthly board meetings: Meetings are held via Zoom conference call the second Thursday of every month from 2 PM to 4 PM EST (2 hours per month) 
  • Review board packet with agenda in advance of the monthly board meeting (1-2 hours per month) 
  • Attend Guild annual meeting (winter, 2 hours virtual or in-person) 
  • Participate in annual board retreat (fall or winter, 4 hours virtual or in-person)
  • Participate in the following one time per year 
    • Annual executive director review (1 hour) 
    • Annual board review (1 hour) 
    • Annual member survey (1 hour) 
    • Review of budget (1 hour) 
  • Participate in Guild working groups, involving video calls and corresponding activity, this is voluntary in addition to board commitments 

Is there any personal liability? 

Any board member acting in their capacity as an officer of the Guild shall incur no personal liability and shall be held harmless for any such actions to the extent authorized by the laws of Massachusetts (the state our organization was founded in). The Craft Maltsters Guild carries Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance. ​D&O liability insurance protects the personal assets of corporate directors and officers, and their spouses, in the event they are personally sued by employees, vendors, competitors, investors, customers, or other parties, for actual or alleged wrongful acts in managing a company. 


A special thank you to our outgoing board members:
Phil Neumann, Dan Galvagni, and James Weed!